Jane Not So Plain

A DIY Destination for Sewing, Crafting and Fashion

How Do You Define Yourself?

on June 14, 2012

So, I was reading through my Google Reader RSS feed, and I came across a really interesting post from Deborah of Whipstitch Fabrics. It basically discusses what to call someone who sews. Obviously, on paper, “sewer” looks like a place where waste water goes, not one who sews. Sewist is a made-up word that needs to be defined more often than not. And, seamstress seems (pun completely intended haha) not to allude to modern techniques and creativity.

I started thinking about it. People who craft are crafters, people who DIY are DIYers, the list could go on. Here’s what the Whipstitch community came up with for people who sew: Seamster. It’s a play on seamstress that is gender neutral. I like it, and I think I am going to adopt it, too.

Leave a Reply

